• info@chiangmaigrandview.com
  • (66 53) 220 100-9

Location

Location

From Distance Time By
Chiang Mai International Airport 5 km. 10 mins car
Railway Station 7 km. 20 mins car
Chiang Mai Bus Station 6 km. 15 mins car
Nimmanhaemin Road 500 m. 5 mins walk
Doi Suthep Temple 13 km. 15 mins car
Night Bazaar 8 km. 10 mins car
Elephant Camp 15 km. 10 mins car
X-Center 10 km. 15 mins car
Wiang Kum Kam 15 km. 10 mins car
Wat Suan Dok 1 km. 5 mins car
Chiangmai Zoo 1 km. 5 mins car
Chiang Mai City Arts And Cultural Center 5 km. 5 mins car

Tours and Attractions

Wiang Kum Kam

Wiang Kum Kam is an ancient city (Thai: เวียง, wiang, meaning “walled city”) located in Saraphi District in the northern region of Thailand, around 3 km (1.9 mi) south of the southeastern corner of Chiang Mai’s city centre. According to the chronicles and archaeological evidence, the old city was built by King Mangrai around the latter part of the 13th century.
The city was established as a new capital by the King after his victory over the Mon people’s kingdom of Hariphunchai, modern Lamphun. Due to repeated flooding, a new capital, Chiang Mai, was built a few years later. Wiang Kum Kam flourished during the reign of the Mangrai dynasty until the late 16th century.
The old city was then lost from history for many years after Chiang Mai was conquered by the Burmese in 1558. There is a presumption that it was seriously flooded again at this time and was finally abandoned. The people were moved back to this area again more than 200 years later with a new community, and it was then named Chang Kham village (บ้านชั่งคำ).
In 1984, the Department of Fine Arts Unit 4 discovered remnants of the old city around Wihan Kam Thom (วิหานกานโถม) at Wat Chang Kham (วัดช้างค้ำ) and afterwards excavation was begun; since then many new remains have been found and restoration has proceeded since that time.
The main temple of the town is Wat Chedi Liam (originally: Wat Ku Kham), which is still occupied by monks.


Wat Suan Dok

Wiang Kum Kam is an ancient city (Thai: เวียง, wiang, meaning “walled city”) located in Saraphi District in the northern region of Thailand, around 3 km (1.9 mi) south of the southeastern corner of Chiang Mai’s city centre. According to the chronicles and archaeological evidence, the old city was built by King Mangrai around the latter part of the 13th century.
The city was established as a new capital by the King after his victory over the Mon people’s kingdom of Hariphunchai, modern Lamphun. Due to repeated flooding, a new capital, Chiang Mai, was built a few years later. Wiang Kum Kam flourished during the reign of the Mangrai dynasty until the late 16th century.
The old city was then lost from history for many years after Chiang Mai was conquered by the Burmese in 1558. There is a presumption that it was seriously flooded again at this time and was finally abandoned. The people were moved back to this area again more than 200 years later with a new community, and it was then named Chang Kham village (บ้านชั่งคำ).
In 1984, the Department of Fine Arts Unit 4 discovered remnants of the old city around Wihan Kam Thom (วิหานกานโถม) at Wat Chang Kham (วัดช้างค้ำ) and afterwards excavation was begun; since then many new remains have been found and restoration has proceeded since that time.
The main temple of the town is Wat Chedi Liam (originally: Wat Ku Kham), which is still occupied by monks.


Doi Suthep-Doi Pui National Park

A national park in Chiang which covers a 262-square-meters of verdant forest and mountain ranges in three districts of Chiang Mai. Attractions in this national park include Huai Kaeo Waterfall and Kru Ba Sri Wichai monument, which is a tribute to a Buddhist monk who successfully initiated the construction of a road to the peak of Doi Suthep, which was completed in 1935. Among the major hills; Doi Suthep, Doi Buak Ha, and Doi Pui, Doi Suthep is perhaps the best known as its peak is the location of a sacred Wat Phra That Doi Suthep and the golden pagoda that shrines against the sun.


Chiang Mai Zoo

Over 200 types of Asian and African mammals can be found in this striking landscape, here at Chiang Mai Zoo. This must-see family attraction can be found at the Doi Suthep foothills, just next to the beautiful Huay Kaew Arboretum. Say hello to the China Panda Family Ambassador to Thailand, Linping, Lin Hui, and Chuang at the Panda House. Follow by immersing yourself in Asia’s longest 133-meter underwater tunnel at the newly aquarium where you will discover rare sea and river fish from northern regions including Khong River Basin, Amazon River Basin and the mangrove. Don’t miss, Nakhon Ping Bird Aviary, the spacious walk-in aviary named the largest one of Thailand where you will explore a vast array of more than 132 local and international bird species with the scenic view of a waterfall. Don’t have the whole day to spend here? The zoo offers a tram service for  a sightseeing trip with an informative live guide about the zoo and its highlights. You can also traverse the zoo with the bird’s eye view from the monorail which stops in the 4 highlighted attractions. Enjoy a family meal with an open-air deck seating restaurant right by the stunning waterfall. Open daily from 8 AM to 7 PM. Ever wonder what the zoo is like at night? Visit the mysterious Twilight Zoo, from 6 PM to 9 PM.


CHIANG MAI CITY ARTS AND CULTURAL CENTER

Located on Prapoklao Road, The Chiang Mai City Arts and Cultural Center stands on the location of the former royal hall.  Built in 1924 with elegant architectural design, the building was first used as the central administrative offices of Monthon Phayap, later as the Provincial Hall of Chiang Mai until the municipality renovated it for the cultural center in 1997. The restoration of the center has earned the municipality the award from the Royal Society of Siamese Architects in 1999. The center is created to promote the understanding of Chiang Mai’s roots, a sense of pride in local identity, and to preserve the beauty of our local culture. The center has been divided into 2 sections, front side and rear section. The front side is all for permanent exhibits showing the development of the region from the pre-history to its rise and decline as an independent capital until the present time.  And the rear side is the enclosed open-air courtyard reserved for cultural activities, temporary exhibitions, a souvenir shop, a lecture theatre, an exhibition hall for Lanna arts and an archive.